PDA

View Full Version : FX Wars Volcano: Björn Marl

Srek
01-23-2005, 01:54 PM
Hi,
nice subject to finaly get something finished. Since i have no experience whatsoever with compositing applications i hope you don't mind if i do what i can within one program.
I'm using the number three video and want to do three things.
1. Crash the car in the foreground with some volcano debris
2. show the volcano spitting right behind the houses (i know it's a cop out, but i hav eno idea how it might look in the foreground and i did not want to settle for a small smoking hole)
3. Having lava flow down the ramp in the background.

Good luck to anyone
Björn

basti
01-23-2005, 02:05 PM
nice :) i like the car-smash idea

good luck björn!

maybe i can find enough time to participate, too.. we'll see in a few days

basti

Srek
01-23-2005, 02:16 PM
First step was to single out the car in the foreground and give it a geometry to destroy. This is done using simple camera mapping and a primitive box modeled car shape.
I took one still image from the movie and removed the foreground car from it with PS to get a background for the smashed car and placed it behind the car.
Also a shadow catching plane is needed so the new car and the debris will cast correct shadows. This is done via camera mapping too. I use this plane as a collider for the car crash too. The collision itself is done using very stiff cloth, since this allows for fast tweaks of the impact.
For the background i'm using two planes, one for the clouds and one for the buildings, to allow the debris flying from the backround into the foreground.
The debris piece is a simple shape with some displacement to start with. An emitter is placed on it to produce a smoke trail. The emitter is also used to produce some smoke on impact.