PDA

View Full Version : Barbell Threads?


fretshredder
01-22-2005, 04:13 PM
Heyas --

I am confooosed. I am trying to model a barbell and I am at the point of cutting the threads into the bar itself. Cannot seem to get something going. I have tried sweeping a helix spline and booleaning it but to no avail. Attached is what I am trying to achieve. Anyone have a moment to help this lad?

TIA
/gary

wesware
01-22-2005, 04:50 PM
You can extrude every other line of polys in a plane, put it in a wrap deformer, then use the "movement" function to offset the threads. Hope that helps.

CosmicBear
01-22-2005, 05:04 PM
something like this?

http://www.cosmicbear.de/cgtalk/screw.gif

probably not the easiest way, but here's the scene-file with the different stages

scene (http://www.cosmicbear.de/cgtalk/screw.c4d.zip)

cheers
Cosmic

tcastudios
01-22-2005, 07:00 PM
As seen above there are several good ways. Let me show another!
Scene progress here (http://homepage.mac.com/tcastudios/TCA%20CINEMA.html) item 006.

http://homepage.mac.com/tcastudios/Tuts/Bolt/BoltTut01.jpg
http://homepage.mac.com/tcastudios/Tuts/Bolt/BoltTut02.jpg
http://homepage.mac.com/tcastudios/Tuts/Bolt/BoltTut03.jpg
http://homepage.mac.com/tcastudios/Tuts/Bolt/BoltTut04.jpg
http://homepage.mac.com/tcastudios/Tuts/Bolt/BoltTut05.jpg
http://homepage.mac.com/tcastudios/Tuts/Bolt/BoltTut06.jpg
http://homepage.mac.com/tcastudios/Tuts/Bolt/BoltTut07.jpg
Cheers
Lennart

tcastudios
01-22-2005, 07:01 PM
And to round it of.
http://homepage.mac.com/tcastudios/Tuts/Bolt/BoltTut08.jpg
http://homepage.mac.com/tcastudios/Tuts/Bolt/BoltTut09.jpg
http://homepage.mac.com/tcastudios/Tuts/Bolt/BoltTut10.jpg
http://homepage.mac.com/tcastudios/Tuts/Bolt/BoltTut11.jpg
http://homepage.mac.com/tcastudios/Tuts/Bolt/BoltTut12.jpg
http://homepage.mac.com/tcastudios/Tuts/Bolt/BoltTut13.jpg
http://homepage.mac.com/tcastudios/Tuts/Bolt/BoltTut14.jpg
http://homepage.mac.com/tcastudios/Tuts/Bolt/BoltTut15.jpg

Cheers
Lennart

policarpo
01-22-2005, 07:25 PM
Screw That!

Hahahah!

Thanks for the tutorial!!http://cgtalk.com/images/smilies/thumbsup.gif

Srek
01-22-2005, 08:55 PM
Cool, nice one lennart :thumbsup:
Will you put it on your website? If not we should move this to the tutorials and tips section.
Cheers
Srek

tcastudios
01-22-2005, 09:09 PM
Cool, nice one lennart :thumbsup:
Will you put it on your website? If not we should move this to the tutorials and tips section.
Cheers
Srek

Thanks. If you don't mind putting it there, please do. I'll make a page at my place later.
(I just hate webmaking - hence my site "design" :) )

Cheers
Lennart

fretshredder
01-22-2005, 09:33 PM
oh damn! Thanks everyone for the very informative responses.

Lennart -- Thanks for the tutorial. I hadn't even thought of a plane and wrap deformer.

*sigh*


Thank you all so much
/gary

MJV
01-23-2005, 04:44 AM
Very clever the offset trick. Nice one! :thumbsup:

MySchizoBuddy
01-25-2005, 09:14 AM
How do how do i select the edge. when i use edge optional loop selection it selects more than one edge.
http://www.public.asu.edu/~ziyads/pic1.jpg

tcastudios
01-25-2005, 02:21 PM
You will have to check "Stop at boundary Edges" but...
This won't work in your case since your cylinder overlap..
You'll have to go back a few steps and make shure the WrapDeformer is making a clean 360 degrees wrapping and adjust the plane to fit.
Cheers
Lennart

MySchizoBuddy
01-25-2005, 10:45 PM
Sir,
When i extrude i get this opening at the edge of the wrap. i'm wrapping it from -90 to -450 which makes a complete 360 degree.
I'm using Cinema 4D 9

Thankyou for ur help Sir.,
.
http://www.public.asu.edu/~ziyads/pic2.jpg

tcastudios
01-26-2005, 12:46 AM
Hi. I think you need to choose "Optimize" the mesh so the ends get welded/connected before doing the extrude. The ends are still the two sides of the plane, and because of that not connected.

Cheers
Lennart

JamieHS
04-20-2005, 01:11 PM
That is a very neat trick! I suppose that after extruding the ring of polys, one could make the edges of the threads sharp using the "Normal Scale" Tool :thumbsup:

CGTalk Moderation
04-20-2005, 01:11 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.