PDA

View Full Version : How long it took to get familiar with MR?

pwallin
01-22-2005, 08:20 AM
I try to examine how much time I have to committed to XSI and understand stuff to get in to a "medium level of knowledge" of using Mental Ray.

So everyone, how long it took from YOU to get familiar with it? I really do not mean that you should know everything, but to a point you were quite happy using it in everyday situation.

Pasi

Shinova
01-22-2005, 11:20 AM
I first started dabbling with MR with Maya. Had a pretty hard time with it. MR shader this, MR shader that confused the hell out of me. I was starting to understand how the photon-related effects like GI and FG worked when I started XSI.

After that, it took about a week for me to get pretty familiar with it. I'm still learning.

pwallin
01-22-2005, 11:28 AM
I first started dabbling with MR with Maya. Had a pretty hard time with it. MR shader this, MR shader that confused the hell out of me. I was starting to understand how the photon-related effects like GI and FG worked when I started XSI.

After that, it took about a week for me to get pretty familiar with it. I'm still learning.

A week is not too bad...or your a more intelligent than most of us, hehee! But how long you stuggled with it when you were using Maya?

What was it that using XSI "opened your eyes" about GI and FG?

Pasi

Shinova
01-22-2005, 11:33 AM
What was it that using XSI "opened your eyes" about GI and FG?

Pasi

XSI's documentation definetly helped. I found out what the emmitters and what the receivers are supposed to be (XSI sort of forces you to deal with it while Maya sort of hides it under a rug and you have to go looking for it)

XSI more "solidified" my MR knowledge rather than "opened my eyes." Sort of like putting the cap on a bottle after filling it up with water elsewhere.

Just_David
01-22-2005, 11:58 AM
its the hardest renderer ive used and im struggling with it to get fast / decent results. still i love it.

Atyss