PDA

View Full Version : How much and how long for a storyboard?

alex-tomlinson
01-21-2005, 09:11 PM
Just wandered over from the Cinema 4D forum to float a couple of questions about storyboarding.

I'm an illustrator who mainly does magazine and advertising work, using Cinema 4D, sometimes painter and more recently both together.

I've been hired by a small UK film company to do some concept visuals for a 'relatively' low budget horror movie (honestly can't give any details or show any pix yet as I am sworn to secrecy) UK crew with US money. So far they are exceptionally happy with what I've done and have been paying me in installments (so i know they're kosher). So far I've been doing large (3500 pixels wide HDTV format) 3D renderings that are then overpainted in Corel Painter to give them a very Graphic Novel type feel. I'm commissioned to do 4 images of the main scenes, a series of 4 images (sort of mini storyboard) for the key opening scene, and a couple of additional illustrations. These are all being put together into the form of a 'brochure' (can't think of a better description) for the pitch to the money-men (they'll also be filmed on a rostrum for a dvd that'll be used in the pitch).

My problem now is that they are so happy with my work so far that they have asked me to do the storyboard for the entire film - if they get the money.

I have no idea how much work is involved or what kind of ballpark figure I should have in mind if they get the go-ahead.

Can anyone tell me how many frames am I looking at having to produce for a (I guess) 90 minute film? How long does this kind of thing usually take? What level of finish is required (the small number of storyboard examples I've seen look to be quite sketchy but they may expect something more complex).

Also any good books you can recomend?

Any advice or suggestions would be much appreciated.
I promise to post images as soon as I am allowed.

scotttygett
01-23-2005, 02:42 AM