PDA

View Full Version : Low Poly Question


TMNT3D
01-21-2005, 06:51 PM
http://www.ninjaturtlesnetwork.com/menu/lowpoly.jpg
I swore I'd never do this model again, but now that I've discovered how to properly low poly model something...

I'm trying to model something low poly, because the high poly is, well, to high :). So far, it went from 300,000 polygons to 20,000, even though It's still not completed.


But, I've got a problem. I think it looks better unsmoothed when rendered than it does smoothed. But, I havn't been able to figure out how to get those criss cross lines off the model when it's being rendered. It looks terrible with them. Any ideas?

http://www.ninjaturtlesnetwork.com/menu/lowpoly1.jpg
Thanks!

Illumino
01-21-2005, 07:08 PM
Post a wireframe so we can see what's going on there. Also what software are you using? Looks like you might have some 5-sided and non-planar polys there.

I..

TMNT3D
01-21-2005, 07:54 PM
http://www.ninjaturtlesnetwork.com/menu/lowpoly2.jpg

Here's a wireframe plus highlights with edges..

madart
01-21-2005, 08:19 PM
Which application are you using? In the wireframe images you can't see the soft edges. You have to flip them or redo the soft edges. You've got long thin tris and like Illumino said you might have non-planar polys.

TMNT3D
01-21-2005, 09:51 PM
Whoops, forgot to mention I'm using
3DMax 5... I tried to make Planar the Polys
but to no effect, it didn't turn out any differently
in the rendering....

How would I show soft edges?

Dave_Hingley
01-22-2005, 08:12 AM
i thinki know whats hapening here.

i think the best way to solve this is to use smoothing groups
select all the top faces of the extrusions and set them to smoothing group 1 (you might also want to either save the selection or give them an id)

as long as the rest of the model has no smoothing groups it should look ok. you might have to make extra selections and give them different smoothing groups but it should fix it

TMNT3D
01-22-2005, 01:20 PM
The Other Thing I think I should point out, is that I created the armor using the Cut Feature. Could that account for something?

I removed the Edges I didn't want with the Remove Feature..

CGTalk Moderation
01-22-2006, 02:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.