PDA

View Full Version : rendering memory question

mancabbage
01-18-2005, 03:46 PM
hi im running c4d 8 on a dual 1.8ghz G5 mac with 1.25 ddr sdram installed, i have been geting some 'not enough memory' errors when rendering certain models recentlty, and thats just simple rotations - no complex movements at all, i checked maxons site and they say to reduce the poly count, ive done this using optimize but a lot of my models look horrible now - what do you think is a reasonable poly count that i should be aiming for in my scenes considering my specs ?? im a third year uni student and this is for my dissertation so its quite stressful for me at the mo :banghead: having spent all this time making my modles look nice having to take out all this detail is a reaaal bummer... do you think i should upgrade my ram to 2gb? would this help that much - my computer can go up to 4gb but i read somewhere that no application on osx knows how to use anymore than 2gb anyway so do you think this is the avenue to take? thanks a lot

ZorgInc
01-21-2005, 11:04 AM
Hi

I have the same problem on my PCs. I use at home 4 workstation (all with winXPpro, 2GB of RAM, c4d r8.5 & v9) and a dual Xeon 3000 with 2GB of ram.
I have an entire cyber city, more or less 570.000 polys :eek:
The problem is not the count of polygons, but the ram limitation of XP. :shrug:
A guy told me that OSX do not have ram limitation, and c4d v.9 also have solved the exe ram limitation.

I spent 20 days to solve the problem, many people told me many points of views,... but I still cannot render that scene well :D
I solved that problem in a artificius way... but the ram limitation still remain. :sad:
I tested Cinema 4d 8.5 & 9, Carrara 4 pro, Vue5pro, all crash render if RAM goes up to 1,2 GB.
On same and different files, on 4 different PCs. The ram limit should be 1,8 GB for each exe. :shrug:

Bye
EPICI

PS: I am not a technition, I only give u my expirience. :)
PPS: sorry for my bad english :D

archeo