PDA

View Full Version : cliffhanger demoreel

seger
01-18-2005, 12:17 AM
Burn me down to the ground. This is my first demoreel. It contains some of my best stills and my best animations -of which I have not a lot, it's not my specialty. I've been working as a freelancer for three years. Tell me what is wrong with it and don't hesitate to me what you like.

http://www.cliffhanger.nl/films/showreel_en.html

Viewtiful Baker
01-18-2005, 02:27 AM
I'm not really sure how much room I have to talk, here. Since I'm still a student, and am only now working on my ownn reel, but here goes.

Ok, bad news first, then the stuff I liked.

I don't know, but it seems a little long to me. Not sure what the exact time count is, but it was a pretty hefty download. Overall the content's good, but it seems like you build up to some of your best stuff (the eyeball animation). We've been told that we should plan our reels to put our best foot forward. Put some of your best stuff (maybe not ALL of your best stuff) at the beginning so it catches the attention of someone watching it. Some employers might be impatient, and if their socks aren't rocked in the first 30 seconds or so, then they might not give your reel time to get around to the sweet stuff. In all honesty, the first two models you show weren't the best stuff on there. It seems like saving the best for last doesn't really work for reels...

Also, in some of the rain scenes (only some), it seemed like the rain was falling a little slow. Maybe that was an effect you were aiming for. I don't rightly know.