PDA

View Full Version : A bit of everything...

Viewtiful Baker
01-15-2005, 11:10 PM
Sorry if this is in the wrong place, but I'm new here. This is my first post, I just wanted to see if anybody could critique my work a little. I'm in my final semester of Digital animation now, and I'm working on my demo reel. This is my website project from this past semester. Pretty simple, but I've got some of my better stuff there. Animations, stills, sketches, and so on. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Here is my webpage. Please give any comments, positive or negative.

http://newmedia.cna.nl.ca/~10018516

KevinCCAD
01-16-2005, 04:43 AM
crit for the website.
I'm not sure if this will be correct since my computer might see it differently from others. A few things.. I don't really like the font, the boxes for links are blank before you mouse over? that makes it awkward and like a guessing game, you should atleast hint at them with a fainter font color or something before the mouseover, the layout feels odd, like it's really flat, maybe it needs some gradients. Also think back to your 2d design classes and try to incorporate eye movement and dominant, subdominant and subordinant shapes a little better. I see that you've started to do some kind of technical type of design, maybe try expanding this theme to create a flow to the look of your page.

*edit* not sure if you wanted the webpage crit, I just re-read your post.

Viewtiful Baker
01-16-2005, 04:49 PM
Thank you kindly. I thought it a little flat, honestly. Also your layout tips are good. I noticed that while I was showing it to a friend recently, I completely forgot about the links on the bottom page. I'm not sure if I'm going to keep the technological theme. I may go a little more organic to make my site a companion to my demo reel. Stay with a consistant theme throughout.