PDA

View Full Version : Hello, Wavers' World! & 1 Brick Procedural Q

Delphis
09-07-2002, 04:50 PM
Hello, everyone! it's my first post here, so you know you just got a new waver into The Community. :wavey:

So here goes my first Q: Does everybody find creating bump effect with the Brick procedural a hard job like me?

I am studying the Brick procedural and found it really difficult to create a good brick-surfaces-raised-above-mortar-gaps effect with a brick procedural as the bump map. To better see tweaking results, I applied the bump maps of Lava and Brick_1-4 presets which come with lightwave to a level 100 subpatch geometry with Bump Displacement checked on the Object Properties panel. Then I found while the Veins procedural works pretty well as Lava's bump map, the geometry with Brick applied ended up with each brick becoming a little pyramid, however I tweaked the setting.

As I am still a total niubai(big time, as you soon will see), I guess I just missed something there, so could someone give me a few tips on creating a realistic-looking weathered brick wall? Thanks.

And I have found this tutorial about creating "realistic Brick surfaces" on Scott Cameron's tutorials list, but unfortunately here at home we have very unstable access to sites in geocities' domain, so could someone kindly pass the most important part of the tut to me? many thanks in advance. Here's the link:

http://www.geocities.com/SiliconValley/Bit/8953/tut_1.html

Also, I think the controls offered by the in-box Brick procedural is kind of limited. Do we have alternative brick procedurals or shaders?

P.S.: