PDA

View Full Version : LightWave manual.

Underwurlde
09-06-2002, 10:02 PM
First of all, this is just my opinion, you may or not agree with it but ..

I got my LW a couple of days ago and I think the manual needs some work, it's very good at explaining the functions and settings of the various tools but where are the decent tutorials ? If I was a newbie to 3d I'd be totally lost, I know there are some good tutorials at Newteks website and on the web, but I like to have something in my lap that I can glance at, instead of switching windows between LW and the Web every ten seconds. I've enjoyed every second using LightWave so far but I think when we are spending huge amounts of money on software like this we should be entitled to at least a basic tutorial book.

Cheers, Scott.

Chewey
09-06-2002, 10:11 PM
Do what the rest of us do, buy a Dan Ablan Lightwave book.

Underwurlde
09-06-2002, 10:24 PM
Chewey, I have Inside LW 6 and 7, and theyre good, but not perfect ( no spline modeling information at all, for example ) that's not the point. I also own Maya Complete 4 and Max 2.5, they both come with a lot of tutorials, why not LightWave ?

proton
09-06-2002, 10:25 PM
That is one of my current projects...expect great things in the near future....this has been one of my biggest pet peeves since I've used LW and it was one of the first items I knew I would tackle when I took the Job....your not alone...and NewTek is on teh case :thumbsup:

Valkyrien
09-06-2002, 10:26 PM
well, there're plenty of great tuts on www.lightwave3d.com...;)

proton
09-06-2002, 10:27 PM
Also...LightWave Tutorials online are there for you right now...and another new one went up today.....and another one will go up on mOnday...and so on....and so on....

There are more LW tutorials and resources for NewBies then there has ever been....your in good hands...

Underwurlde
09-06-2002, 10:33 PM