PDA

View Full Version : Elephant walk cycle

loressa
01-10-2005, 04:19 AM
Hi there,

I'm trying to animate a realistic elephant walk in Lightwave. I still think it doesn't look realistic enough but I'm unsure why. I didn't do the model and rig, I'm just animating it.

Can anyone give me some feedback or suggestions?

Here are links to quicktimes of the side and camera views.

http://www.digitalartisan.com.au/elephant

- Loressa.

Benito
01-10-2005, 06:47 AM
It looks good, but you should watch out for the right leg behind when it goes straight. Maybe you should put a bit of bend in the leg because the leg seems to break behind the knee. And try lowering the center of gravity a bit because the elephant should go up and down a bit when it walks.
Good work,
Ben

bobzilla
01-10-2005, 04:50 PM
Well, I'm no pro, but here's my observations:

1. The steps seem a little too syncopated. Maybe have the feet stay bent a hair longer before the foot comes down. Slight delay when the foot comes down, maybe.

2. Maybe a little shoulder roll.

3. A little more side to side with the hips.

4. Needs a little more feeling of weight, I think.

I think the steps themselves look very accurate. What did you use as a reference? Did you cycle first? I have a huge dino that I want to use an elephant walk cycle for but have yet to find something usable.

Just my 2 cents...

ZephyrStar
01-10-2005, 05:36 PM
I totally agree with what Bobzilla had to say, overall your timing looks decent, except maybe quicken the in and out curves on the steps juuuuust a tad. Think bouncing ball.

Hip and shoulder sway is going to do a whole lot for you also. Add them, and remember, usually the hips and shoulders point opposite each other during a walk.