PDA

View Full Version : Shake compared to flame/inferno

jonathanesc
01-09-2005, 07:15 PM
Forgive me if this has been brought up before;

I have been working on inferno on an Onyx2 for about 8 years but am now looking for some software to use at home as I no longer has as much access to these big machines as I used to.

I have tried using combustion on a fast pc but it simply is too slow and I can't do all the things I need with it.

I have heard a lot of positive talk about Shake, and also it obviously is pretty cheap in comparison, but tell me; does it compare?

I do mostly 2d compositing, mostly in video resolution but sometimes in 2k also. What I use more than any other module is the action module of inferno, doing mainly 2d animation and layering, often with 3d displacements and 3ds max objects.

If you can give me any advice on what to get it would be greatly appreciated. I don't have a large computer now, I am waiting to see if I need a pc or a mac G5.

Thank you in advance,
Sincere regards

Jonathan Ésc, New Zealand

CoolBlueMan
01-10-2005, 06:33 PM
Hi Jonathan,

Only thing you'll miss is the 3d space as Shake is absolutely 2d.
But as soon as you begin to get familiar with Shake tools, you'll forget about Inferno and Discreet.
Maybe it is not as fast as Inferno because of the machine behind the software, and probably you won't have real time play if you don't have the right amount of RAM; but if you get a good computer, you won't be to far from there.
My advice would be: get a G5, with as much RAM at least 2'5 Gb RAM (Shake won't handle more than 2Gb as that is the limit for any single process; and the system will use the other 512 Mb, so 2'5 Gb will be fine).
Why a G5 instead of a PC?