PDA

View Full Version : Is XSI 4 newbie-friendly?

livatlantis
01-07-2005, 10:29 AM
Hey all! :D
I'm a newbie to the world of 3D authoring, so like every other newb, I'm in a bit of a rut decided on the right tool. No, I'm not going to ask which is the best. Rather, I've had my eyes on XSI for the low price (and the fact that I can learn along with the Mod tool initially). I've read in places that XSI isn't right for newbies or for freelancing/one-man-studio. That's exactly what I aim at (for the future). I narrowed by options down to XSI and Lightwave (and maybe even C4D and Max, though they're not as affordable).

Will learning XSI really be a problem for me? Is it a more "group" software? :O
Oh, and will the limitations of the Mod tools really restrict me to learn? :O

I doubt I'll find any XSI resources where I live (Kathmandu, Nepal), so I'll have to rely on free tutorials.

Oh, I have entry-level Wings experience ;) What say you? Is XSI for individual 3D artists?

el_diablo
01-07-2005, 10:54 AM
I plan on baseing my studio on XSI (essentials, maybe advanced when things pick up). My first real XSI expirience was year ago when I started working at a studio that had one license of it, and I grew to like it more overall than other packages I had worked with before (LW, Maya, Max). Its pretty complete (even the base Foundation package), and runs spiffy, both interface and opengl viewports. If you dont have any complete package prior experience I would think any package would be a good start for you.

One piece of advice I would like to give you is to base your learning on tasks not features.