PDA

View Full Version : Need some help

chris411
09-05-2002, 02:58 AM
Hi! I am a beginning amateur free time artist, right now in the process of learning lightwave. I have come up with a problem with my latest 3d model, and I was wondering if anyone could help. :) I am trying to make a dagger, but I cannot get the blade right. What I have tried to do was create the base shape, and then use the pen and bezier tools to create the edges and finally fill the sides with patches or something. However, I kind of saw that this was not going to work. I thought about using something like the extrude and bevel took, except that the slopes of the edges are not even. I have looked long and hard for a tutorial that would just give me a hint on how to do something like this but to no avail. Take a look for yourself-
http://galileo.spaceports.com/~chris411/3d/3d.html
Now, I am not asking for a full blown tutorial on this, but I could use a suggestion or two on how to go about constructing the blade.
Thanks. :)

Tumerboy
09-05-2002, 03:06 AM
I would create the orthographic views (which you've got)
then take one of those, doesn't really matter which one, copy it to another layer, and then bevel that, move it to where the next point is on the other orthos, scale it to fit those points, rinse and repeat, and repeat, and repeat, and repeat, and repeat. . . . ad nauseum.

There may (and probably is) another (and better) way, but that would work, and it would probably give you the most control over your model.

Good luck

Lizard Head
09-05-2002, 08:18 AM
Hi
A quick tut I did on the blade, hope it helps!, any questions?? just ask.

Adios
Lizard*

http://www.lizard-head.com/Images/Design/Avatar/knife001.gif
http://www.lizard-head.com/Images/Design/Avatar/knife002.gif

Kaiser_Sose
09-05-2002, 09:18 AM
In the objects > weapons folder there is a dagger object which comes wih a scene too

eheupel
09-05-2002, 12:52 PM