PDA

View Full Version : What is it, that makes a good model a great one?

ThomasMahler
01-03-2005, 02:15 PM
Hello,

Well, maybe this will be a long post... I'm a little disappointed at the moment, about my work, about my skill as a sculptor, etc. I just showed my current work to my family and friends and got some pretty harsh comments - I also posted my current model in a lot of CG Boards and also non-CG boards to get as much critique as possible, but it seems that my work is kinda uninteresting, since I don't get too much critique at all...

I'm personally currently at a point where I think that my work isn't too bad, but everytime I show my work to someone, I get comments like "Alright, but it doesn't look realistic at all, don't you think?" and so on and so forth... In order to advance my skill as a sculptor/digital sculptor, I just started studying sculpting at an art school here in austria.

Since I started doing CG, I always compared my work with the work of industry professionals. My current model is pretty much inspired by Blizzard Artworks, so I guess it's just naturally that I compared my model to the models that you can see in the World of Warcraft Cinematics. I actually sat down with my family and let them decide what they like better - I have to add that my work is still WIP, I didn't texture anything at all yet, but their comments were pretty much devastating... every single one of them thought that the Blizzard model looked a hundred times better than mine. I also think that the Blizzard one is a hundred times better than mine, but I'm asking myself: Why?! Is it just the Texture? Is it the model itself? Is it because my lack of skill? Is it because of the renderer? Is it the "ZBrush Look"? Am I obviously missing something big?

Take a look, I showed them these two renderings:

http://members.chello.at/thomas.mahler/compare_01.jpg
My Model, modeled in Wings, Silo and detailed in ZBrush.

http://members.chello.at/thomas.mahler/compare_02.jpg