PDA

View Full Version : WIP: Kung-fu/Superhero style animation

KevinKraeer
01-03-2005, 06:56 AM
Hey everybody. This is my first attempt at using Character Studio. Well, besides the tutorials... I gotta tell ya, I really nailed the one where you make the guy use an iron.

Anyway, I've done a version where the camera moves and another one with a still camera, so the animation is easier to rip apart. I was inspired by, and used, some Bruce Lee moves, as well as the 'air juggle' technique Treyarch developed for the Spiderman 2 videogame. This is actually something I'm working on as a sort of freeform test for one of my contacts on the inside, and imitation - in this particular case - was encouraged.

http://www.kraeeranimation.com/fightTest.JPG

Moving Camera: http://www.kraeeranimation.com/movingCam.avi

Still Camera: http://www.kraeeranimation.com/stillCam.avi

I'm definitely looking for C & C as I keep going. The plan at this point, from where the clip ends, is to have the red guy piledrive the guy on the ground. Oh, that guy on the ground, who just lies there after the leg sweep, will get up feebly in the final piece also...almost immediately after he's knocked down... so he can be beaten further.

Thanks friends!

Baskiat
01-04-2005, 02:02 AM
Very nice, but they seem like fighting in the "moon"... I mean, with little gravity in some movements. I don´t feel so much weigh at some points. :)

Hope you understand what I´m trying to say.

-KDX-
01-04-2005, 02:53 PM
yar I'm not the best at gravity myself, but that and the collisions are not very realistic.

they "float" around too much imho and the impact of the hits is not very intense and almost non-existent in some places.

You can fix that with creative camera cuts and shakes, but you will have to tweak the curves of the animation too to reflect the impacts and decrease the "floating"