PDA

View Full Version : Fighting boredom

gothicslavechild
12-31-2004, 04:39 AM
Ok heres the 411. I have been working on my reel for the last 9+ months and have had what you might, and I would deffinately call a rough start. After finishing school, I moved from Utah to the UK and in the process succeded in frying my computer. Lost all of my school work. I spent 3 months getting my computer up and running. This was made excedingly difficult due to the lack of money and fact that I am in a foriegn country. Anyway I eventualy got it working but still had nothing to show in order to find work. nine+ months later I'm still trying to put together a reel. Im finding 2 very deffinate problems. (1) Depression, it's all a bit overwhelming to be 5,000 miles from home with what sometimes looks like no hope of even finding work. (2) This one may be more relevent to the moment. I have all of my character models and props, all textured, rigged and ready to go into what I hope will be a fairly nice reel. I've set up and animated the first minut which mostly contains the walk cycle of 1 character. Ive got 3 more characters to introduce as well as quite a few props and special effects to show off. I'm probably less that a month from completion but I seem to have writers block. I just can't make myself go up there and work. Its turned into an hour a day if Im lucky. Im hoping it's just the Christmas holidays slowing me down but I realy don't think thats it. What I'm asking for are tips hints or anything that might help me stay motivated. I'm becoming very bored (could this be the problem) With a long project what might be done to keep up moral?
While I'm here do you know any sites I might visit for tutorials on animation? I know the basics can do a walk cycle and all of that. Played a bit with IK but am realy just starting out and could use your help. I felt pretty confident untill I started animating then it hit me

!doink!
"I've never done this before."