PDA

View Full Version : Birth From Clouds

Eyern
12-30-2004, 02:20 AM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v480/IronPriest/CloudsExtendedSmall.jpg

Yep, stupid name, couldn't think of a better one at this point. Anyways, this is my frist post, I just started painting and stuff, and I got a Graphire for xmas and this is the first and only thing I've used it on as of yet. I did this painting for a few reasons, a. to learn clouds, b. to get better at shading, and c. to get better at human figure. At this point I'm happy with the clouds, but the human figure, obviously not so much. What you see at the top is supposed to be a male torso and chest. I can't do the arms more than a few lines without them looking to long or short or just weird. I want them to be outstrected horizontally. I'm also (obviously) having troubles with the head. I want the head to be facing upwards, with the chin also pointing up, so the head it back, but I'm finding this really hard. I can't see how to do little details because whenever I get the brush smaller its always brighter and looks weird. In later versions I plan to make the cloulds more detailed and also to get the clouds out of that triangle shape because I noticed it looks like its an old fasion dress, those huge kinds. Anywho, any help or critiques would be extremly appreciated.

(I know that this doesn't really compare to, well, anything else here at this point, so I don't really need huge critiques pointing out everything wrong, just general tips or suggestions. Hopefully after a lot of practice I'll be able to stand a chance compared to anyone else :))

StylusMonkey
12-30-2004, 07:04 AM
welcome to the forums, my advice to do something complicated like that is to first work out a compositional sketch, fill in the values, then finally the colors.

also, depends on which programs you are using.

Eyern
12-30-2004, 08:44 AM
Using Photoshop 7, sorry forgot to mention. Thanks for the tip, I'll give it a try.

Eyern
12-30-2004, 10:20 AM