PDA

View Full Version : Demo Reel - Character Animation

johweedee
12-27-2004, 06:28 AM
Hello, this is my first demo reel. I am beginning the search for an internship this summer and am looking for advice on how to make this better. All crits on any aspect of this reel would be appreciated. Thanks for watching!

View My Demo Reel (5 mb) (http://www.rit.edu/~jsd0377/DemoReel/DemoReel_web1.mov)

Tsahi
12-27-2004, 07:43 AM
you got some nice stuff there, man.
i'm not an expert on demo reel editing, but i do think a few touches could
spice it up:

-the music. i think the music should be replaced by something more lively and with a beat.
this music, made me want to get back to my warm bed (its morning here), and not make me jump. i think that since its a demo reel, the music should be something that attracts attention, so that the viewer will want to see more and get the feeling (from the music) that if he takes his eye off the frame for a second, he's gonna miss something important.
-when the frogs are talking, you might want to put the sound of the conversation too. maybe.
-i'm not sure about all the cutting back and forth between the frogs and the boy, they are not related to eachother and when it jumps back and forth more than once or twice, it reduces the flow.
-in order to have variety of animated scenes, and demostrait animation skills, you can take a few days to animate a short scene like in the "10 seconds club", with a ready-made character, and add it. it'll add volume to the demo reel.

good luck.

HenningK
12-31-2004, 11:41 PM