PDA

View Full Version : Viewport performance on animation – How to explain these numbers?

FiveTalents
12-21-2004, 06:48 PM
I just started learning XSI a few months ago and so far am quite happy with it. My system consists of an Athlon XP 2000+, 1GB PC2100 DDR, GeForce4 Ti4200 with 64MB RAM, and Windows 2000 Pro OS. The system is by no means top-notch but should be OK to handle most of the work for me. However, I have found that the viewport performance is not up to the standard, especially when I tried to preview the animation sequence. In order to see where to improve my system set up to get a better viewport performance, I ran a few tests and got some performance data to ponder. I have drawn some thoughts from my tests but hope to see how you more experienced guys think about it. Since this is a long post, I am afraid to waste your time if I am totally off on this topic. If so, I stay humbly corrected.

For the first test, I took the elephant scene from the project folder on the Animation DVD (the Production Series DVD), did a frame rate benchmark on it, and got the following initial numbers.

Test 1 – Original elephant scene
Camera viewport with hidden line removal, showing only 3D geometry, ground grid, frame rates and scene/selection info, Uncheck the “Limit Max Playback Rate to Scene Frame Rate” in Display preference.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Elephant Triangles (fps): 9324 (14.8), 37296 (4.6), 149184 (2.2), 596736 (did not try)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------