PDA

View Full Version : Dispalcement maps blending according to different blendshapes

Pickman
12-20-2004, 10:00 PM
Hi there, I'm currently working with Maya and zbrush to make an android face. I feel comfortable with modeling but I'm quite new to maya interface (coming from a max background).

I've looked in the hypershade and I'm trying to blend my four displacement maps, I read the doc quite a lot and found very difficut to put these up, Apparently I would need a plusminusaverage node to calculate the difference between two maps, set it to substract to get the difference between them. I'm stuck afterward, How do I link the result to my blendshape 1 ???. Has anyone tried it and would be kind enough to show their node hierachy and maybe explain a little the process ?
THX alot :-)
Don't know If I should post it in the animation section or the rendering one for both sections are involved ?

Pickman
12-27-2004, 09:05 AM
Hi there, Is everyone sobbering up from Christmas ??
Any idea about my problem ?
:-)

cryolab
12-27-2004, 01:07 PM
if you want to blend the displ. maps if the blendshape is active i would use driven keys

so 1.take all 4 maps put them in one +/- average node
2. set driven keys to the alphagain connected to the blendshape (if blendvalue is 1 >alphagain is 1 too (or higher) -- the blendshapes must be the driver :)

do this for all the 4 maps

i hope this work

greets

csven
12-29-2004, 07:27 PM
maybe this thread will help: http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?t=191260

Pickman
12-31-2004, 12:40 PM
Thx a lot guys, cryolab, that's exactly what I was looking for, but have you tried it, it doesn't seem to work with the hypershade, maybe I need another node to match the blendshape output with the displacement map. I'm getting there, I 'll let you know if I find the solution.

cseven, not quite sure it 's waht I'm looking for, but thx anyway.
THX again guys.

cryolab
12-31-2004, 02:11 PM