PDA

View Full Version : MR displacement approximation - what is it for?

saguaro
12-16-2004, 01:27 PM
I try rendering displacement (generated in Zbrush on low poly model) with MR. I have a Subivision approximation node and Displacement approximation node connected to the geometry shape. Deleting the displacement approx. node has no effect on rendering at all. What is it for then? :hmm: Changing settings in subdivision approx. node does have effect, but to get satisfactory result I have to set rather high settings when Maya just makes error and dies (AMD 2,3 1GB ram). I'm very new to MR and I'm definitely doing something wrong. I'd be grateful for any help. Thank you in advance.

Jozvex
12-16-2004, 11:12 PM
Well I think you're not actually doing anything wrong. The problem is that displacement approximation doesn't quite work properly in Maya when combined with subdividoion approximation!

Normally displacement approximation works fine and is very usefull for tuning how your model is displaced. Perhaps try leaving out the subdivision approximation?

I rendered the demonstration ZBrush head model in Maya using displacement and it worked fantastically without needing subdivision approximation.

saguaro
12-17-2004, 02:09 PM
Thank you for the reply, Jozvex.

I try to render the sword test, downloaded from zbrushcentral forum. It seems disp. approx. works only on polygons, doesn't it? The best result I managed to get is using smooth with 2 iterations (or converting to subdiv. surf.) and subdiv. approx. with maximum settings that maya allowed me (otherwise crashing). Displacement approximation node didn't do anything in this case.
Polygons with displacement approximation seems to give some decent results (I didn't do much tweaking yet) but gives ugly artifacts on sharp edges (sword's blade) and I failed to get rid of them. Using displacement on subdiv. surface (even without subdiv. approx.) does nothing.
Looks like rendering displacement in MR is quite a mess. :sad: