darker. How can I do that?
I have try with reorder node and

bightness but nothing. Is this a right

way our I do totaly wrong?
please help

Aneks
12-13-2004, 10:23 PM
one word : expand !

use the expand node to boost the alpha of your shadow pass !

have a look at this tut :

http://www.vfxtalk.com/tutorialfiles/shake/multipass_tut.zip

donvlatko
12-14-2004, 09:09 AM
wow man, thanks a lot! this is what I was looking:) Is there any other tutorial like this one?
I am new in pass rendering. I saw that hi has use MentalRay for rendering in passes. I am more intrested in maya render, but what I have see from render globals it pritty pure....do you have any tips in rendering in layers?

Once again, thank you very much!!!

Aneks
12-14-2004, 10:48 PM
You're welcome.

When I wrote the tut I was using both mental ray and maya software. Depending on the project I will still use maya software renderer a lot.

I NEVER USE the 'RENDER LAYERS' functions in either renderer.

render layers are very problematic (no alpha for specular pass, diffuse pass is dodgy, only 4 types of pass :( ......

test I have done I have found them to be up to 3 times slower than rendering speperate passes in seperate scenes ! People on highend claimed that in their tests they were up to 4 times slower !

I reccomend that you make a base file for your scene and then create seperate files for each pass. It is a little bit more work but definately worth it !

I am hoping to write a lot more tutorials soon so maybe I can try and include some of this stuff too !

donvlatko
12-15-2004, 08:33 AM
thanks man again, so you did a tutorial cool. Hope you will make:))

So to do in separate scenes, hm......ok I will try that. What is the best way to make a shadow pass. I saw you make your shadow to be green and red, how did you make that?

Aneks
12-15-2004, 10:36 PM
Thanks I am glad you enjoyed the tutorials.

What is the best way to make a shadow pass.
for the object that will recieve the shadow