PDA

View Full Version : Should I bother buying XSI foundation? I'm confused

phonicsmonkey
12-12-2004, 07:17 AM
Hi, I'm a little bit disappointed (to say the least) with something I've just found out about XSI foundation.
I've been using 3ds Max for just under a year now and have just gotten the hang of it. But I'd been hearing really good things about XSI and how it was better for animating (i'm an animator you see). I got all fired up and wanted to buy it because of what i've heard and the price (i'm also a student) but then found out that HAIRand FUR arent included in foundation....so i was just wondering what you guys thought. Is it worth buying foundation? I'm a little scheptical now because i don't know what else is omitted from the package that i don't know about!
Thanks in advanced, I'm only a student so I really have to research and spend what little money I have wisely.

dAfTiE
12-12-2004, 07:26 AM
Not sure what other packages are out there for that price with fur and hair included,
As for the stuff missing from foundation,check out:
http://www.softimage.com/products/Xsi/v4/comparison/default.asp

comanche
12-12-2004, 07:35 AM
As a student, go for Advanced:
http://www.softimage.com/Products/Xsi/v4/educational/student-teacher.asp

j3st3r
12-12-2004, 08:13 AM
Cloth IS in FND, it`s not the syflex, which is included for ADV, but the original SOFTIMAGE cloth. It`s good for not too advanced animations.

If you are a student, then you should consider purchasing ADV EDU version.

Foot
12-12-2004, 02:58 PM
I am a student and have purchased the EDU version of advanced. It has everything there is and now comes with Behavior 2.0 for crowd simulations. As you can see from the link above it fits a student budget better than regular Foundation. It requires that you fill out a form and providing evidence that you are a student, but the hassle of filling out a couple forms and waiting a couple days is worth the ammount of money you save.

zaam
12-12-2004, 05:23 PM