PDA

View Full Version : Which language is better to learn for scripting in XSI and Maya?

mill
12-11-2004, 05:24 AM
Hi.

I am an artist and completely new to programming.
But I want to learn some scripting and expressions.

Problem is I need to use both XSI and Maya.
Which language is better to learn for these two applications?

schyzomaniac
12-11-2004, 11:00 AM
If you want to do scripting in Maya and XSI then you probably have to learn two scripting languages, since Maya is only supporting MEL and XSI of course not. On the other hand you have more freedom in XSI when it comes to choose a scripting language. I would say go for either VBscript or Jscript in XSI, whereas Jscript seems to become more and more popular. Most of the examples in the scripting documentation are VBscript based, but it's really not that hard to translate the code to Jscript. In XSI you can choose between Vbscript, Jscript, Phyton and Pearl.

cheers,
daniel | schyzomaniac

//edit:
here are two links with jscript tutorials for xsi:
http://www.philbarrenger.com/tutorials/begginersscript.htm
http://www.philbarrenger.com/tutorials/begginersscript_2.htm

StefanA
12-11-2004, 01:18 PM
For Maya it's pretty much only MEL you can work with, unless you wanna develop plugins. Then C++ is the choice

For XSI I would recommend Python or JScript.

http://www.python.org/ is a good way to start. Read all tutorials, and you will then also learn the basics of programming in general.

http://www.rickw3d.com/ has some good links for programming and math.

regards
stefan andersson

mill
12-11-2004, 05:07 PM
Thank you for your reply.

I think I am going to take Jscript or Python.
But I still can not decide which one.

I heard a lot of good things about python.
Which one do you think would be popular in the near future?

StefanA
12-11-2004, 07:32 PM
Thank you for your reply.

I think I am going to take Jscript or Python.
But I still can not decide which one.

I heard a lot of good things about python.