PDA

View Full Version : my showreel

JeT
12-09-2004, 08:31 PM
hi guys and girls, if you have the patience and time (not many of us do) can you take a look at my showreel i have just finished putting together? it is in the gallery section of my unfinished website.

it is a 21.5 meg download - 2.5 minutes - quicktime

http://student.ci.qut.edu.au/~n4698312/web_folio/

my name is joe and im an animation student at qut university about to embark on 3rd year. previously at qantm institute and now working at qantm institute, this is my 3rd animating year. i can feel the glee.

thank you!

BadgerSundae
12-09-2004, 09:26 PM
Joe,

I just finished watching your animation reel and had a few comments. You have quite an array of unique character designs in your source material, although some are more compelling than others. The synchronization between the cinematography and the soundtrack worked well for the most part, as well. I liked the bug with glowing eyes and the silhouetted monster that captures him, and would have liked to see more of them.

There are a few sections of the reel that seem like they could be improved, however. The brown character running away from the light in the tunnel needs the most work, in my opinion. He doesn't appear to be in contact with the ground when he stands up or is running. Further, his run cycle looks like it's too slow for the speed of the camera move.

The more violent segments involving the flat-shaded characters work better in some places than others. At the beginning, some of the cuts and camera work make it difficult to tell what's going on. Shots later in the reel, like the one in which the vaguely human character has his arm pulled off, are better established. I feel like I have enough context to appreciate the action, there.

Hope some of this helps.

JeT
12-10-2004, 04:28 AM
thank you mturner1030,