PDA

View Full Version : Critique my first WALK CYCLE

brianemsu2
12-08-2004, 07:12 PM
Hey everyone, I finished my first walk cycle last night. It took me about 12 hours to complete with smoke breaks... my teacher says that's really slow but that I should get faster as I do more. Anyway, I would appreciate some critiques on it. I know of some areas that need more work but I'll let ya'll decide. I should have two more done by Saturday.

http://artserv.art.msstate.edu/bee2/Documents/walkCyc.mov
(760 KB - Sorenson 3)
let me know if that link doesn't work and I'll try something else.

Brian

Mungo J
12-08-2004, 07:40 PM
looks really good for a first cycle mate, i'm still quite new to animation too (2nd yr. of uni degree), but things i'd say are-

maybe the arms (especially) and legs could be arced better (quicker through the motion, with more pause at either extreme)

and some secondary motion on the head for (more) vertical bounce, the swaying to the sides looks great, but unless he's really effeminate i think there would be a lot more bounce.

the hip and shoulder motions look good to me tho.

hope this helps, i'm sure there'll be some better crit soon!

(hope you can crit my thread i posted a few hours ago, im desperate to make it better, but need some constructive crit!)

Wilson-3d
12-08-2004, 08:58 PM
Well you are off to a great start. The first thing I noticed was that there is no motion in the wrists. Put some overlap motion in them and then a little in the fingers and it will add a lot to the fluid motion overall. Give the elbows some bend in them too. Then you may want to give the wrist the overlap a frame after the elbow is bent to the extreme. The right foot seems to be lifting a little early - like the arch needs tweaked and it looks like it may have a jitter. You may need to smooth out some curves in the graph editor. Nice job.

Kit Kat The Cat
12-09-2004, 10:06 PM