PDA

View Full Version : 10 sec. character animation... c+c 'preciated

Mungo J
12-08-2004, 03:47 PM
Hey everyone, this is one of three animaitons for our character animation module on my uni course, the theme is student life, and this first one is about the extreme boredom we are all often faced with... rendering.

Please let me know what you think, and don't pull any punches with crit, i'm new to animating, but really want to keep improving.

http://s04.imagehost.org/1023/WaitScreen.jpg (http://get.filehosting.org/ei12060.avi)
(click on the image for 727kb DivX .avi file)

thanks,

JHarford
12-09-2004, 12:02 AM
NICE! great work , very belivable. I'd work on the second head bounce, but else it reminds me of a friend i have at uni :D

Mungo J
12-09-2004, 09:50 AM
hey,

cheers stripe, thanks for your comments and i'll sort out that 2nd head bounce today or tommorow, also i was going to tone down the swatting motion on the third "nod" as i'm not sure it makes much sense - any opinions?

does anyone else have any comment/crit?

ta,

gaiXyn
12-09-2004, 10:36 AM
very nice, but his legs doesn't move at all for the first 3 seconds, there should be some kind of motion there no?

Mungo J
12-09-2004, 11:02 AM
thanks binder, yeah, good point it's now on the to-do-list.

i find it's easy to overlook the bits the animation isn't focusing on, but its these things which make a character more beleivable - so thanks for noticing,

any more for any more?

armocelu
12-10-2004, 12:18 AM
I like the timing of almost all the enimation, but at the end looks like the subject was KO and not just fallen sleep, if it is your intention to look like that then i say nothing :p

Mungo J
12-10-2004, 12:32 AM
thanks for the input armocelu, i have to say he is just supposed to be falling asleep, inspired by the usual three-days-awake-straight-till-deadline mood, as i guess most have experienced where you wake up, twisted, scared, confused and having dribbled into your keyboard.