PDA

View Full Version : Lume Tools are here again


nobody551
12-07-2004, 01:06 PM
Does anybody knows how to connect the Lume Watersurface, Submerge and Ocean shader.

I connected the following:

lume_Watersurface>Surface

lume_Submerge>Volume

lume_Ocean>Displacement

Phong>Shadow/Photon

Looks quite nice, but where to connect the Ocean shader as a bumpmap?
which material shader could I use to adjust specular of the watersurface?

THX

Bullit
07-23-2005, 12:41 AM
I am wondering that. Specially comparing with a thread in "how i did it" at XSibase. The user Ayan was able to get a Color output from Ocean shader and connects to the bump. I have that Ocean but only outputs vector and can only connects to displacement.

bravmm
07-25-2005, 09:59 AM
Hi,

You probably using the version of the Lume shaders XSIBase/Lymmen wrote?
There's a difference in the SPDL code, so instead of outputting color information, it's only outputting vector information. Ayan was so kind to email me the beta version of the Lume tools he's working with, so I could compare the two sets ;)

I haven't tried this yet, but you could change/add this into the SPDL code and reinstall the shader.

It's the following section of the SPDL:

phenomenon "lume_Ocean"
{
Name = "Ocean";
Version = 2;
Use = displace, texture; (texture is added to code)
}

Let me know if this works or not,

rob

Bullit
07-25-2005, 10:07 PM
Wonderfull bravmm, yes i have the Lymmen mod. I'll try your advice and will report soon . Thanks

Bullit
07-25-2005, 10:55 PM
Back; Not successful ( note this was my first try messing with spdl´s)



This is how it is after i modified it : (Spdlcheck says Error: line 273 the metashader section is already defined )

phenomenon "lume_Ocean_te_declare"
{
Name = "Ocean";
Version = 2;
Use = displace, texture;
}
MetaShader "lume_Ocean_te_declare"
{
Name = "Ocean";
Type = displace;
Type = texture;
Renderer "mental ray"
{
Name = "Ocean";
Options
{
"version" = 2;
}
}
} <----------------------------------------line 273


This is how it was:

#phenomenon "lume_Ocean_te_declare"
#{
# Name = "Ocean";
# Version = 2;
# Use = displace, texture;
#}
MetaShader "lume_Ocean_te_declare"
{
Name = "Ocean";
Type = displace;
#Type = texture;
Renderer "mental ray"
{
Name = "Ocean";
Options
{
"version" = 2;
}
}
}


If you dont want to loose your time maybe you can mail it to me at zalexss@yahoo.com

Many thanks

bravmm
07-26-2005, 02:35 PM
I'll try to have a go with it tonight, see if I can come up with something working. Just have to reread some of the manual stuff about this ;)

rob

-------
EDIT:
-------

Can someone test this?? You can install this one using the lume.dll from the XSI 4.x installation. Use the one in the p4 folder if you have a recent CPU. Just D&D to the folder of the SPDL file.

//start SPDL file, copy from inbetween these lines -----------------------
removed it temporarely till it works properly:D
//end SPDL file ---------------------------

Bullit
07-26-2005, 08:26 PM
Bravmm

Render region hangs XSi and only solution is to crash it.

Tried with a grid with Lume_bravmm linked to surface output (via a scalar2color that shows up automatically) with and without environement map in default pass and a light

bravmm
07-26-2005, 09:13 PM
Changed the output of the shader to color, was mistaken about the scalar output. :eek:
Will re-check the shader in this form, and oh .... Lume_bravmm is way over the top :deal:

rob

Bullit
07-26-2005, 10:07 PM
Hehe needed to have a reference to origin of the shader :)

Send me it to try when you change it. Also the ayans one i want to look at it.

bravmm
07-26-2005, 10:53 PM
Bullit,

check your email for updates

rob

Bullit
07-27-2005, 12:13 AM
Thanks , i will .

Bullit
07-27-2005, 04:40 AM
Same problem hangs at Render region.


I noticed this part while installing

** Warning: No associated library found.
-- lume_Ayan registered as Mental Ray Shader

The plugin has been successfully installed.

I have put the spdl with lume.dll (tried the 164kb and the 174kb versions) in same folder for install. But for some reason it dont refers the lume.dll like lymmen shader did.

Do i need annother .dll?

Bullit
07-27-2005, 05:18 AM
Ok i found the spdl install problem: in last line

must be Filename = "lume" only not lume2 or lumexxx or any other thing to get lume.dll


The bad news your shader Bravmm still crashes in render region, the good ayan shader dont crash anymore.

bravmm
07-27-2005, 09:14 AM
Hi,

That's probably one of the reasons why I din't get the Ayan shader to work, although I didn't got any errors while installing this version. Will have a look at the rest to see if this will fix them. Will let you know, but am a bit busy today.

rob

Bullit
07-27-2005, 10:00 AM
Sure, have a good working day :)

CGTalk Moderation
07-27-2005, 10:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.