PDA

View Full Version : GAC 11: Wong Fei Hung, chinese martial artist/folk hero

ill_logic
12-06-2004, 03:41 PM
just staking a claim, think he lends himself the best to something like this. the decision now is whether i want to go with one of the millions of film versions (my personal favorite is jackie in legend of drunken master :D) or just design him from scratch & get creative with it. for more details:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wong_Fei_Hung
http://www.kungfucinema.com/articles/2001-04-08-01.htm

more soon. i hope.
-J

ill_logic
12-06-2004, 06:58 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v105/kurocrash/Wong-Fei-Hung-Concept.jpg
name: Wong Fei Hung
hair:black
eyes:brown
height:5'10
weight:135 lbs
style: self-taught mixture of several chinese wu shu styles
weapon:still working on that; a chinese broadsword and/or gourd?!
story: as a student of medicine in late nineteenth century china, wong fei hung's strict father prevented him from learning martial arts. but being a kid of the streets, fei hung learned all that he needed to know. his style was a patch work of several others but he prefers using his own tiger-crane system. it was also on these same streets where he saw the harsh policies of the oppressive local government in action. rebelliously, he started attacking the corrupt & helping out the less fortunate.
--
there's my concept & a little bit on the character. in that sketch, i plan on having some nice silk type embroidery or something of that nature, especially on his top. as for his hairline, you'll not it's back a bit. i guess that was just sort of the style, take a look at a picture of jet li's wong fei hung in the 'once upon a time in china' series for a better idea of what i was going for. i just kind of altered it because i figured that historically rebellious figures would be like punks today lol
that's all for now, more soon
-J

loner86
12-07-2004, 01:04 AM
Excellent choice! Look forward to seeing what you can come up with.

levin