PDA

View Full Version : Cinema 4d to XSI considerations

nhytro
12-05-2004, 06:16 PM
Hi guys!

I am a 3D hobbyist, I have Silo( which I love) and Cinema 4D Core + Bodypaint 1. I would really like the have the new features of Cinema 4d rel 9 but the upgrade path for me is just too expensive, besides, being a programmer by profession, the XSI SDK has got me drooling :).

My questions:
1. I cherish C4D for its stability, what is the stability like for XSI on W2k?
2. Is the XSI foundation/Base a dual OS liscense? ( Linux and W2k)?
3. Does mental ray support GI and DOF?
4. Are the animation tools stripped down in the Base version comapred to the essentianls package?
5. Is the OBJ import in XSI goood? C4Ds OBJ import stinks( materials get lost).

If the foundation/Base package scores in all the above questions, then I save the price of getting The Advanced renderer and MOcca( animation) packages for Cinema. I might even sell my liscence.

IŽm sorry if some of these questions are answerd on the XSI base, I just couldŽfind any answers that suited me. Besides, I would really like the view of a cinema 4D user on this.
Thanks for all your answers in advance.

SheepFactory
12-05-2004, 06:20 PM
1) very stable if you have one of the recommended configs.

2) I dont think it is

3) Of course

4) No , all the animation tools are in there , and they rock.

5) Some say its bad but i had no problems using it.

now that said ,

If you are comfortable with c4d , and all you do is modelling and stills there is no reason to switch to xsi imo. I use c4d also time to time and its a good package. But if getting xsi foundations less expensive than the c4d upgrade price i'd go with XSI.

And why dont you download the demo and find out all the answers to your questions , you have a 30 day trial , use it.

nhytro
12-05-2004, 06:39 PM