PDA

View Full Version : Trouble with infinate / indeterminate floats.

mr3dguy
11-27-2004, 01:09 PM
Ok Im kinda new to maxscript.
The code below basically takes 4 x point3 values and tests for an intersection between 2 lines. It then returns a point3 value of the point of intersection or undefined if the lines dont intersect.

"
fn pointintersect point1 point2 point3 point4 =
(
result = undefined
if point1 != point2 and point2 != point3 and point3 != point4 and point4 != point1 and point1 != point3 and point2 != point4 then
(
b1 = ((point2.y)-(point1.y))/((point2.x)-(point1.x))
b2 = ((point4.y)-(point3.y))/((point4.x)-(point3.x))
a1 = (point1.y)-b1*(point1.x)
a2 = (point3.y)-b2*(point3.x)
xi = 0
xi = xi - (a1-a2)/(b1-b2)
yi = a1+b1*xi
if ((point1.x)-xi)*(xi-(point2.x))>=0 AND ((point3.x)-xi)*(xi-(point4.x))>=0 AND ((point1.y)
yi)*(yi-(point2.y))>=0 AND ((point3.y)-yi)*(yi-(point4.y))>=0 then
(
result = [xi,yi,0]
)
else
result = undefined
)
else result = undefined
result
)
"

The problem is sometimes I get a point3 return of [-.#IND,-.#IND,0] in max 4.
Max 6 seems to treat this as undefined. This happens when there should be an intersection.
The only help I could find on #IND in the maxscript reference is the small part you see below.

Quoted from maxscript reference.