PDA

View Full Version : FAQ

RobertoOrtiz
11-24-2004, 01:48 PM
This is a GREAT FAQ by Megan Smiley

Common Acronyms and Abbreviations:
How do I join the DSF?
How do I post an image?
Iím new to CGTalk. Why isnít my post showing right away?
Can I use any medium?
Iím a complete novice! Is that okay?
Whatís up with the time limits?
Iím so busy! Can I sketch only once in a while?
How do I know which threads are active?
What kind of threads are in the DSF?
How do I find sketches from the old topics?
How do I vote for my favorite?
Is there a lot of competition?

DSF - Daily Sketch Forum
NTL - No Time Limit
SOTW - Sketch of the Week

How do I join the DSF?
There isn't a member list and there isn't a secret password or handshake. To join, simply login and post your topic sketch. It's that simple. And, it can be very effective.

How do I post an image?
Posting your images is remarkably easy:

First, upload your image to an image-hosting site such as imageshack or photobucket.

Copy the link to that image.

Register and login as a CGTalk Member if you haven't already.

Click on the DSF thread you wish to post your sketch.

Click POST REPLY. This button is found at the top and bottom of the thread.

Activate the message area by clicking in it (the image will appear where your cursor is flashing).

Click the icon that looks like a little yellow postcard or envelope. That should open a scripted window.

Paste the link to your image into the highlighted section reading "null." Your image will then appear in your post.

*If the scripted window does not open and you get a warning at the top of your browser about scripted windows, R-Click on the bar and select ďTemporarily Allow Scripted Windows.Ē Click the yellow postcard again to launch the window.