PDA

View Full Version : Color bands when rendering


kidfierce
11-22-2004, 10:16 AM
I just purchased Maya 6 unlimited. I am really excited to get this rolling. It looks like it has a much better render engine than max. I have a basic scene I'm using to get used to the render settings.

I have a plane and a sphere using 1 point light for illumination. When I render this simple scene using either maya or mental ray, I end up with color bands on the objects. I've tried different lights and shaders and still end up with the same thing.

Anyone like to point me to what I'm doing wrong?

Oh yes. I am using an amd 2.4 and an nvidia fx5200 ultra. My memory is DDR 1 gig. Windows XP with all the latest drivers. And the latest DirectX.


Thanks.

rollmops
11-22-2004, 03:44 PM
Can you try to render the same picture in 16bits.iff?
Or turn on the jitter in mentalray?

razorback
11-22-2004, 09:53 PM
Urm, you wouldnt happen to be using a TFT monitor would u ?

BillSpradlin
11-22-2004, 11:28 PM
Try hitting the 1:1 button in your render view window.

AndyLau
11-25-2004, 07:24 AM
I found the same problem.

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 11:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.