PDA

View Full Version : ASE exporter


Griffon
11-20-2004, 03:24 AM
I through together an ASE exporter for modo. It's a personal project and in no way associated with Luxology. A readme is contained in the zip.

MAC:
http://www.battlefleet.net/fmtase_OSX_0_1b.zip


Windows:
http://www.battlefleet.net/fmtase_win32_0_1b.zip

GraemeH
11-20-2004, 04:06 AM
Ummmm....... dumb question, but what is it for? I guess if I don't know, I'll probably not use it! But thank you, it's installed!
Graeme

Griffon
11-20-2004, 04:24 AM
heh, like they say, "If you have to ask...." :)

ASE is "ASCII Scene Export". It's a format commonly used going to a lot of game tools. It's a common export option from 3DS MAX.

GraemeH
11-20-2004, 05:49 AM
Now I understand! ;) Great work! A lot of people have been asking for an export plugin for 3DS Max.
Thanks,
Graeme

GraemeH
11-20-2004, 08:28 AM
I spoke too soon. Modo quits when I use it on my Mac (OSX.3.6) :sad:
Thanks,
Graeme

jakeh74
01-03-2005, 08:38 PM
do you know if there is a ase importer available for this?

-j

Griffon
01-04-2005, 10:30 PM
No sir, not at this time.

mpuoci
02-11-2005, 02:06 AM
I was wondering if you could "tweak" the exporter a bit or inform us how to modify it for use in our workflow. No major changes but the x axis seems to be flipped 90 degrees and the scale is off by 100x (objects come in too small). Is there any way you could take a look at this as we are trying to avoid going into Maya and it seems that if we can get this to work we could do most all our work in LW and Modo and straight into the Unreal Engine.

Thanks for any help with this,

Mike
Naked Sky Entertainment

Griffon
02-11-2005, 07:07 AM
I'll see about taking a look at it this weekend.

-Eric

imsof
02-11-2005, 06:22 PM
some conveter programs will contvert to lots of different formats. i have "3d object converter" and it converts to ase plus many other formats.

Rahnem
08-16-2005, 09:55 PM
I almost wet myself with glee when I googled this.

Unfortunatly this crashed unrealed (unreal engine editor) when trying to import.

CGTalk Moderation
08-16-2005, 09:55 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.