PDA

View Full Version : Info bar like in Cinema 4D?

MJV
11-19-2004, 12:26 AM
Hi. I am new to XSI and am wondering if there is anything like Cinema 4D's excellent info bar that interactively tells you what the icon below your cursor does. I'm reading the manuals and yes I could look up the manual every time I come across an icon or menu I don't understand, but it would really speed up learning if there was some little bar of info that told me what it does.

I realize that I can activate the tool and then the info bar at the bottom of the layout will tell me what LMB, MMB, and RMB does, but I'd rather know before I click on something what it does. Seems like it would be a logical enhancement to the mouse button info bar that I see implemented currently.

wurp
11-19-2004, 10:16 AM
I dont think there is such a thing in XSI. I guess you have to stick with the manual. Also, once you learned all the buttons and stuff, would you really want xsi to tell you what they do every time you move your mouse over them?

ChristianFischer
11-19-2004, 11:33 AM
hi mjv.

could you maybe give me an example for a button in xsi that has no tooltip popover and is not self explaining?
i'm not sure if there is really a need for something like that ..

cheers chris

StephanD
11-19-2004, 12:56 PM
Problem is...There are no icons in XSi,Get or Modify is pretty straightforward imo like much of the rest of the layout ;)

Ablefish
11-20-2004, 12:55 AM
There may be a problem if you're not seeing tooltips for most buttons (not menu buttons though) in the interface and editors. There are also tooltips for most of the ops, clusters and elements in the explorer. Where exactly were you feeling they were missing?

MJV
11-20-2004, 01:07 AM
There may be a problem if you're not seeing tooltips for most buttons (not menu buttons though) in the interface and editors. There are also tooltips for most of the ops, clusters and elements in the explorer. Where exactly were you feeling they were missing?