PDA

View Full Version : Why use MotionBuilder 6 over XSI 4 Adv for char anim?

benvu
11-18-2004, 10:09 PM
I have been learning XSI for the last two weeks and completed a few 3dbuzz VTMs for Motion Builder. After learning how to use the pre-built XSI biped rig & quadraped rig, why would I need to use an app like Motionbuilder?

XSI seems to have everything MB offers, synoptic views for joint selection, nonlinear animation similar to MB's Story, so I am trying to figure out a killer reason to keep learning MB.

Is the MB animation engine THAT much faster than XSI?
Is the MB rig THAT much more intuitive and faster than the XSI biped rig?
What are other advantages?

BTW- My goal is to do multiple character scenes for film (not games.)

markdc
11-18-2004, 10:17 PM
I've pretty much dropped MB since I started using XSI. I'm still learning the CA aspects, but I feel that it will be less of a hassle to only have to deal with a single app instead of transfering data back and forth. I'd be interested to hear what others have to say on this. I don't know if XSI has anything like voice reality.

mustique
11-19-2004, 03:35 PM
I saw the 3dBuzz vids too, (all of it)
had a chance to play with a MB demo as well as the XSI EXP version.
XSI is a respectable app but to me the question is the other way around.

Motionbuilder lets you animate everything in "realtime": 1-0
Motionbuilder 6.0 rigs are more flexible and easier to use: 2-0
Motionbuilders key and pose editing tools are more dedicated: 3-0
MB + fbx is a superp couple for mocap editing: 4-0

Don't wanna sound biased here so
have a look at the flash and quicktime demos at the bottom of the page to compare

http://www.alias.com/eng/products-services/motionbuilder/index.shtml

EDIT: The only drawback is that MB is an seperate app.
Which will eventually even be a drawback if you're a maya user.
Hope that both apps melt into one "3D monster" in the near future. ;)

xzevlin
11-19-2004, 09:30 PM