PDA

View Full Version : Getting out of the game industry

Dudeman
11-18-2004, 06:53 PM
I have a friend who is approaching 40. And all his values are changing. He doesn't want to be in Games anymore. Although he seemed to have cornered himself into modelling and animation. And animation for film seems too far a reach for him. He also wants to be able to separate his life from his work more.

Edit: This guy also has no college degree. But he is self taught. Senior artist. 9 years in the industry.

I wonder if there are careers out there that could bridge his talents. Working with cg still ofcouse.:)

Do anyone know of a friend that has made this transition?
Or any suggestions?

Dirtystimpy
11-18-2004, 06:59 PM
a 3D instructor wouldn't be a bad gig, I knew someone who taught at an art institute, and only taught around 25 hours a week, and got paid for 40. obviously the money's not as good, but theres less stress and freedom to work on your own stuff.

XLNT-3d
11-18-2004, 07:02 PM
I knew someone who taught at an art institute, and only taught around 25 hours a week, and got paid for 40. obviously the money's not as good, but theres less stress and freedom to work on your own stuff.
If you have a Master's Degree, I think they pay around $40+ per hour. I could be completely wrong, but they do get paid pretty well for what they do.

Equinoxx
11-18-2004, 07:06 PM
there are more areas of CG besides Games & Films you know.
He could look into architectural visualisation, or advertising agencies using 3d, there's a whole range of cg out there.

Dudeman
11-18-2004, 07:12 PM
I forgot to mention this guy has no college degree either. He is self taught. He's a senior artist and in the industry for about 9 years.

johnnyh66
11-18-2004, 07:14 PM
hmmm, that would depend on his portfolio.