PDA

View Full Version : Transfer surface information, normal map?


jackkhouri
11-17-2004, 06:59 PM
does anybody know how to use this option in maya?

apperently thats how you make normal Maps; but I can,t seem to be able to get it to work

can somebody tell or give me a way or tutorial on how to do a good normal map with maya. I,m trying to learn!

thanks

visjes
11-19-2004, 07:53 PM
Open Maya Help and search for Transfer Surface Information. Everything you need to know is in there.

If your problem is simply that the option is grayed out, make sure to load the plugin first (Window->Settings & Preferences->Plug-in Manager...->TransferSurfaceInfo.mll).

Once that's done, you need to select your high-poly object first, then the low-poly one. Make sure both objects have clean UV maps with no overlapping faces. That's about it. Other than that just make sure you understand what each of the options does, and tweak them until you get what you want.

CGTalk Moderation
01-19-2006, 10:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.