PDA

View Full Version : How can i mirror nurbs curves and surfaces?

Z-Buffer
08-25-2002, 02:25 AM
Hi guys, im new to maya and i am curious if is there a way to mirror nurbs surfaces and curves...right now i have to convert to polygons to mirror...

Thanks

dmcgrath
08-25-2002, 03:25 AM
There is no need to convert your NURBS geometry to polys and then use the mirror faces technique.
Take the centerpoint of the geometry (Nurbs patches or curves in this case) and move it to the 0,0,0 point in worldspace. The duplicate the geometry with the correct offset of -1 (usually in X) scale. That will solve your problem, You dont need to use a mirror tool at all if you locate things at 0 Worldspace.

I recommend taking a class or two to get yourself into MAYA, its a hard program to start off in and instruction is probably what you need.

Z-Buffer
08-28-2002, 06:57 PM
Thanks for the tip dmcgratth, two months playing with Maya/and his manual... amazing tool, a lot of cool stuff. Unfortunely we dont have this kind of help here in Brazil (yep, im from Rio de Janeiro/Brazil) only 3dsmax, so i have to learn for myself... right now coursing Industrial Design in UFRJ(local university) and be thought to use Solid Works :(

Thanks for the pic! nice shot!

graphiouz
08-28-2002, 07:11 PM
remember: its all about the pivot! you can control the ''god''pivot by hitting the insert key to move it!

swag
08-28-2002, 07:29 PM
here is a nice script - drag it in ure shelf

//Mirror script ... ovvero quello che mancava a Maya fino ad oggi !!! =) by Leonardo Bruni
//Copyright Leonardo Bruni from Digital Explosion

$MyObj="ls-sl";
string $Clr;
string $NwRotPvt;
string $NwSclPvt;
$NwRotPvt=$Clr+".rotatePivot";
$NwSclPvt=$Clr+".scalePivot";
$MyWindow="Mirror_W";
if ("window -exist $MyWindow"){deleteUI -window $MyWindow;}
window -title "Mirror Tool v.1.0";
columnLayout;
rowLayout -numberOfColumns 3
-columnAlign 1 "left" -columnAttach 1 "both" 0
-columnAttach 2 "both" 0 -columnAttach 3 "both" 0;