PDA

View Full Version : Stretching and bumpiness

kyphur
08-24-2002, 09:43 PM
Hey, I'm having some difficulties with this:

Molly's index (http://www.kyphurland.com/img/full/maya/3d/jotelle/082102/)

This is my first project where I've actually textured something really hardcore. The main thing I'm having trouble with is stretching on her lips, neck and nose.

These are the steps and software I'm using:

Maya 4.0.2
Selecting my object and then going into EDIT POLYGONS> TEXTURING> SPHERICAL MAPPING

I select that then go into UV TEXTURE EDITOR where I cut my nose and ears off the model's UV's. Then I unrwap them and re-attach them to the main surface that I have. Take a UV Snapshot and paint it up in photoshop. When I bring it back in there's some stretching on the lips, and around the ears and down the neck and the nose seems to scrunch up the texture. Is there a way to keep it from doing this or do I have to become adaptive and try to fix it in Photoshop manually? Does the distance between the UV's dictate the amount of stretching/crunching? Does RELAX UV's in the TEXTURE EDITOR help with this or is it just a simple tool for helping you figure out where your ends are?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Kyph

PS> Btw, The maps for bump and spec are updated but I haven't posted them to my site. The bump now is more along the lines of what I want but when I get right up on it looks like acne. I want to be able to afford close ups and long shots without sacrificing the quality. Do you have any suggestions?

PPS> This is a stylized peice and I'm really beginning to think about not going for photorealistic skin in the sense of true skin but something else. I don't want to add lines into the texture because I'm afraid that it'll seem like wrinkles or age marks when this girl is supposed to be young.

leigh
08-26-2002, 08:40 AM