PDA

View Full Version : problem about a famous tutorial

onyxlee
11-14-2004, 02:47 PM
while study the famous tutorial by J.S.Rolhion named Warrior, which is about Zsphere, i followed every step and used exactly the same parameters with the tutorial.

but when i sculped the armor, i found my mesh has too little polygons to make fine details and smooth surface. so i raised the density of adaptive skin from 5 ,which is what the tutorial suggested, to 7. that made a 230000 faces mesh. it's too huge for me to export obj file. finally, i got a 40 MB obj file and max cannot deal with it smoothly. but i still cannot get to my goal, to get details and smooth surface.

can you guys help me out? all of you are masters of ZB, only i am still a newbie. i am looking forward to any suggestion. thx alot!

onyxlee
11-14-2004, 02:54 PM
btw, both of above are my practice mesh. the golden one was rendered in max using scanline. the blue one was rendered in zb. no matter how i set the antialias, the edges are not neat. i used the best render mode. how can i improve it?

in the above pictures, you can see the star at the stomach is lack of details. this part was made in projection master. again, the result of that tutorial is much much better than these two.

why? i've already put the divide level to 7!!!

help me guys!

ThomasMahler
11-14-2004, 03:27 PM
Do you mean the shading of the model? When you export it out of ZBrush, you'll most likely get a flat shaded model - That's what you see here. AFAIR in Max you have to add a "Smooth" Modifier, to turn on Gouraud Shading - Cause I don't see too many jaggies here.

In ZBrush, you can turn off Quick Shade Mode to get the same results. Hope that helped, your question wasn't not very clear...

onyxlee
11-15-2004, 12:40 AM
after i posted the original author's artwork, i think maybe i can figure my problem out.

here it is.

http://206.145.80.239/zbc/attachment.php?attachmentid=760