PDA

View Full Version : Game-art related Questions about things to do/not do

Equinoxx
11-13-2004, 04:31 PM
ok, so i recently I as highpoly modeler became more and more interested in game-art,
for some reason that's beyond me I really love the look & feel of modernday game-art but PRE-normalmapping.
I don't know it's hard to explain.

but for that very reason I have ventured into the game-art realm purely for selfpleasure, not to obtain a position in it,
for I am perfectly happy with my Archviz Job.

Which brings me to my point.
I have no experience with game-art and there are quite a few things that bug me restrictions wise,
or more preciselly I don't know what those restrictions are.

I mean hair for one is mindbogling, don't know what a good way is to tackle that so that it looks good from all sides. in this case I'm talking about short hair, long hair is probably a lot easier.

and what about doublesided materials.
In this case I'm talking about clothing that hangs freely about the character at parts [think of a jacket that hangs over the croch area

another point related to that is how one goes about modeling that, I mean I know how to model, don't worry, but is it custom practise to have the upper body and lower buddy as seperate mesh or does one weld the verts where the jacket splits of to overlapping and the start of the pants for instance together ?

and what about holes ? Does one close the holes where the eyeballs are or does one leave it open ?

well, quite enough for now if there are any GOOD tutorials about things like this i'd like to hear about them, specially hair because I have NO idea how i would do that [other then trial and error]

oh and eyeballs, geosphere or normal sphere and what is the general number of polies in them

all this offcourse loosely based on todays restrictions :)

To close it of an example of one of my earliest acceptable tries at game-art and painting textures for it :)