PDA

View Full Version : xsi to 3ds .. how?


saajjj
08-24-2002, 11:05 AM
hello... i'm interested in exporting my mesh from xsi to 3ds max... I can't find a way to do it. Is there anyway? is there any 3rd party software which can do it? I saw this process as being offered as a service on one site for a price, so i guess it is possible... but how!!

any help appreciated

cheers :)

Atyss
08-24-2002, 10:35 PM
You can export your scene with the OBJ exporter that you will find on XSI Net, and you can use the OBJ importer for 3ds max that you will find here:
http://www.habware.at/duck4.htm


Hope this helps
Salutations - Cheers
Bernard Lebel

dmonk
08-25-2002, 04:19 AM
I found out the hard way but this is what I did.
If you have SI 4.0 you export your xsi model as a dot xsi file and import it into SI4.0 then I export it as a obj. file or whatever options they have. This is of course if you have SI4.0 so it might not be helpful at all. Theres also some stuff I've seen on source forge and ed harriss' site about going back and forth betweens apps.

visualboo
08-25-2002, 06:45 AM
well, if your jsut talking about getting a mesh between apps, that's not that hard. The more data you want out of an app and into another, the harder it's gonna be.

There's a dotXSI exporter for max... get that just so you have it for later (sorry I don't have the address right now).
go to Right Hemisphere (http://www.righthemisphere.com) and download the demo of Deep Exploration. Use that to convert a dotXSI exported mesh from XSI to a Obj file (with material if you want). Then import that into Max with the Obj importer from Habware (http://www.habware.at/duck4.htm)

That's the cleanest way I've found out

Hope that helps

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 03:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.