PDA

View Full Version : Quality Training for CG newby

ianbot
11-12-2004, 06:10 AM
like many here i'm new to cg and am juggling the decision of what package to choose. of those i like (cinema 4d and xsi), from demo experiences, i'm leaning more towards xsi, mainly because of the breadth of the program and the interface. but as someone new to cg, with no experience, how good are the training dvds for xsi? will i be able to get up and running (within reason) after using them? do they introduce the very basics as well as the more advanced concepts? am i getting in over my head by starting with xsi first?

thanks for any help

R10k
11-13-2004, 03:01 AM
The DVD's won't take you from a beginners level, no. Some elements are fantastic and very helpful, because they go into a lot of the technical details, but other areas really badly jump the gun, and completely confuse you. The manuals that come on the DVDs however cover a lot of the finer details and (imo) are much better for learning. Just so you know, the learning curve for XSI is *very* high. I know a number of guys here would disagree with that, but it's not that it's a hard program to use, it's just that there's so much to learn, I wouldn't expect getting up and running to be a quick thing. If you want to learn the basics of CG quickly, try another package like C4D, or even Truespace. The amount of options available won't overwhealm you. If you want to learn some of the finer details and learn a proper workflow, and don't mind learning sixty million things at the same time, go with XSI :)

I personally think the extra effort is worth the time investment. Once you're finished with an easier application you'll want to upgrade to something like XSI eventually anyway.

RogueLion
11-13-2004, 04:45 AM