View Full Version : an interesting blog

Confracto
11-12-2004, 03:53 AM
I found an interesting blog online
was curious what people here thought about it

http://www.livejournal.com/users/ea_spouse/

furre
11-12-2004, 05:14 AM
What other people think. (http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?t=185703)

RO
11-12-2004, 05:28 AM
Well what can I say but I have heard horror stories from EA so when ever I get a mail for EA I just kindly back away from it. I am still new in this industry… very new… Released two games UT2K4 and TO/Assault on terror. But one thing that has surprised me is the amount of pay people expect you to earn for all these 10+ hours work days. A company about a month contacted. A very nice company, the type of company that I would love to work with. The position of Level Artist was offered to me and I was all excited. The benefits sounded great the whole royalty percentage sounded fair but when it got to the pay it was damn criminal. Fact is if you can survive with the pay given and I mean survive not live… Survive as in meals everyday and a roof to sleep under… It is not worth the trouble. In fact because of place I would move in to would be expensive since it was a pretty big city… With the pay offered I would be living on each check every month and have no amount of savings for anything else. My whole idea of this company plummeted down the drain. Good company great games and talented, but the pay I was being offered was really bad. Now I am not expecting a lot but I am expecting pay enough so I can plan for my future not to be in the same apartment for 5 years or more.

Thing is I know a few people who are in different art fields like graphic design for magazine illustration and those people get paid more and have normal banker hours with very little crunch time but get paid well.