PDA

View Full Version : nurbs vs. polygons

twcurry1
02-06-2002, 11:57 PM
I'm new to 3d modeling, and teaching myself MAYA. I was wondering what circumstances warrent the use of nurbs or polygons? What are the advantages and disadvantages to using each? Thanks.

Troy

NowInc
02-07-2002, 10:06 PM
The list would be way too long to post..however...in the end..it is all a matter of preference. Each have strong advnatages and disasvantages..and i have seen great stuff come from BOTH methods....

play around a bit and find which you are most comfortable with ;)

j3st3r
02-10-2002, 05:48 PM
If you check out the current state of technology, you`ll find, that for organic character modelling subdivision surfaces do the best.

NURBS are too technical approach, because you have to carefully define surfaces via NURBS curves, and you have to take care of blends, trims. But it requires less memory (to store) the modell, and have UV coordinates implemented into the surface

SubD are much flexible, and if you follow the Volume-Fom-Detail rule, you`ll find it the fastest, and the most intuitive approach. Disadvantages are the relatively high storage space, and the necessity to UV map them by hand. Anyway most artists gladly pay that price

Jester

Lyr
02-14-2002, 12:06 AM
I prefer poly's/subd's as they allow for a more traditional approach to modelling allowing the artist to clearly analyze the plane breaks on a form. However in Maya there are some special nodes that are available only for Nurbs surfaces such as the closestPointOnSurface node. If your model is not a Nurbs surface you can't use this node or the attributes associated with it. There are some workarounds to allow limited use of the closestPointOnSurface node with poly/subd objects through a Nurbs proxy surface, but that requires making a second model.

jrockstar
02-17-2002, 09:56 AM