PDA

View Full Version : Aneks multipass tut

JRH
11-09-2004, 04:58 PM
Hi,

Really incredible tut on multipass. Thanks so much. I'm just getting started in Shake so have some questions hope somebody might be able to answer

1) If the shadow pass for the man had been done separately would it just have been added in with a gamma like the other shadows after the keymix and switchmatte are used to add ambient and diffuse colors to the man or would it be brought in before the diffuse_man is brought into the switchmatte (or does it make a difference)?

2) Why is the shadow for the ball in the g channel to begin with. Is that how it was brought out of the 3d package and if so why?

3)Why is the screen layer of the ball then sent to a switchmatte node with the ball_diff as a matte. Don't they have the same alpha? Is that to carry out premultiplication? The same thing is done with the floor so the same question there but I also notice that the floor_diff being brought into the switchmatte after the shadows are brought in actually shrinks the alpha slightly Whis is the floor-diff alpha slightly smaller than the alpha coming out of the gamma and into the switchmatte?

4) Related to #2 above the red and green shadows on the floor. When he says it was rendered this way--is that something done in the 3d programme or prepreparation done in shake?

5) Why is the ambient occlusion reordered and sent to the alpha channel also?

Thanks for any comments. I found this an incredibly useful tutorial. Sorry for picky questions but I really am trying to understand every detail.

John

JRH
11-09-2004, 06:42 PM
Hi,

Couldn't figure out how to delete this second post so just edited it. Thought I''d figured out the answer to one of my questions but in thinking about it later realized the answer made no sense.
John

Aneks
11-10-2004, 10:47 PM
oooh someone read my tut ! I feel so special !

Thanks for the kind comments !

I wrote this a tut while back so I am working from memory here !