PDA

View Full Version : Re-Named Weight Maps and Morphs

Carbunkle
11-09-2004, 02:49 AM
Greetings, Lightwavers!

I'm new to Layout and I think I've just done a really stupid thing, and now feel like falling on my digital sword!

I've done loads of smartskin morphs in Modeller using RotateSkelegons. After the event, I had a not-so-bright idea of re-naming my weight maps as a general tidying up excercise. I've re-assigned the bones to the newly-named weight maps, but now find that JointMorphPlus dosen't work! The bones otherwise work fine and are correctly assigned to their re-named weight maps, according to BonesProperties.

So, to cut a long and very tedius story short, my question is this: will I now have to redo all of my smartskins again using the newly-named weight maps in order to be able to use JointMorphPlus?

Please, somebody, tell me I won't have to...!

Any advice from LW gurus would be ecstatically received!

All the best!

Carbunke - on the brink of a powerful multiple embolism!

faulknermano
11-09-2004, 03:36 AM
i dont see why you should redo anything. as long as you are referencing the correct weight map names (e.g the new ones) then it should work... unless somehow the names themselves are invalid? i forget if there is naming convention you must use... i dont recall it having one... but better check anyway.

kretin
11-09-2004, 05:35 AM
the weight maps that the bones are assigned to should have no connection to JMP which references the bone rotation, unless you've also renamed bones or morphs, which may cause problems. Either way I'd recommend going into the JMP settings and check them before stressing too much. You certainly shouldn't need to remake any morphs...

Carbunkle
11-09-2004, 10:04 PM
Howdy!

I'm really relieved you think I shouldn't have to redo my morph maps, Kretin and Faulknermano! Jayezon also pacified my raging trauma by saying the same thing!