PDA

View Full Version : Displacement map not being created properly

leigh
11-08-2004, 11:36 PM
I hope this isn't a stupid question, but please bear with me because I'm still getting the hang of ZBrush. I imported a model made in another application into ZB, and then played around with the add and subtract brushes and all that to make some details on the surface.

But when I try to create a displacement map, it just gives me a blank gray image. Any idea what could be causing this? I am sure that I did not miss out any steps in the process...

:blush:

erilaz
11-09-2004, 12:01 AM
This usually means there is no difference in detail between the level of sub divisions, which may mean you are on the highest level of subdivision.... but I'm really just pulling at straws.... I'm fairly new to zbrush as well!

roguenroll
11-09-2004, 12:32 AM
steves workflow was great for me, I've had no probs, there were a few little settings, and tweaks to get the model ready.

http://www.stevewarner.com/Tutorial.../zBrushTut.html

seems down, email, I'll send it to you. its a flash tutorial.

John-Stetzer
11-09-2004, 12:42 AM
But when I try to create a displacement map, it just gives me a blank gray image. Running into the same problem with a model I did over the weekend; this was a new version of a model that previously provided good results, but this time through I'm also getting an all grey displacement map, and when I export the object back out of Zbrush I end up with geometry missing. Hoping to find a solution soon myself :^/...

leigh
11-09-2004, 12:42 AM
Thanks for the replies.

Erilaz - I already changed it back to the lowest setting :shrug:

roguenroll - heh thanks, I actually nabbed that off the web earlier, and was working with it. I followed every step and indicated and yet still I am getting plain gray displacements when I try to make them. I redid it all a few times in case I'd missed something out but I'm still getting the same problem :surprised

meats